Topend Sports Logo

Kraus-Weber (K-W) Test

Dr. Hans Kraus and Dr. Sonja Weber developed the Kraus-Weber Minimum Test in the 1950's. The six-item medical fitness test measures the strength and flexibility of key postural (core) muscles. The test consists of five strength challenges and one general flexibility procedure. The Kraus-Weber Tests do not require sophisticated equipment and are easy to administer.


These tests are graded on a pass-fail basis. Being unable to perform even one of the six exercises qualifies as failing the test. A variation of the scoring method enables partial movements on each test scored from 0 to 10.

Test Descriptions

  1. Strength of Abdominal and Psoas Muscles
  2. Strength of Abdominal Minus Psoas Muscles
  3. Strength of Psoas and Lower Abdominal Muscles —  
  4. Strength of  Upper Back Muscles
  5. Strength of Lower Back Muscles
  6. Floor Touch Test

The Kraus-Weber Physical Fitness Report in 1955, based on the results of testing using these tests, led to the development of the President's Council on Physical Fitness and Sports and the President's Challenge program.


Related Pages

send us a comment Any comments, suggestions, or corrections? Please let us know.

Testing Extra

We have over 400 fitness tests listed, so it's not easy to choose the best one to use. You should consider the validity, reliability, costs and ease of use for each test. Use our testing guide to conducting, recording, and interpreting fitness tests. Any questions, please ask or search for your answer.

 → How to Cite