Test Matches

Test Match cricket is the oldest and longest form of the game.

Why are cricket matches called Tests?

The word "Test" originated with the notion that sports matches played between national representative teams were the ultimate test of sporting ability. International matches in several other sports are also referred to as "Tests", such as rugby union, rugby league, netball, and field hockey (generally sports popular within the Commonwealth).

Test Nations List

There are currently ten Test-playing nations. The Test-playing nations are listed below, with the year of each nation's Test debut shown:

test match tickets

Also, the ICC considering giving Test status to Kenya in the near future.

* The West Indies Test side is a geographically based confederation which includes the member countries: Jamaica; Barbados; Guyana; Trinidad and Tobago; Antigua and Barbuda; St. Kitt's-Nevis; Dominica; St. Lucia; St. Vincent and the Grenadines; Anguilla; Montserrat; and Grenada. (Each country by itself has too small a population to field a competitive Test side.)

from the Boxing Day test, 2010image from the MCG Boxing Day test, 2010

How do countries become Test-playing nations?

The status of test-playing nation is conferred upon a country by the International Cricket Council. The ICC makes the decision based on the applying nation's performance in matches against fellow Associate Members of the ICC and against Test match nations, as well as the level of organization of cricket and the existence of development programs for the sport within the applying nation.

Related Pages