Track Cycling at the Olympics

Track cycling at the Olympics is an event that seems like the only area where the Olympic Committee doesn't seem to have a complete grasp on. A number of races gets added and removed between subsequent Olympics.

There were 5 races for men and 3 for women in the 1996 Atlanta Olympics, 8 for men and 4 for women in 2000, though the same events were retained for men and women in 2004, it again changed in 2008, with 7 for men and 3 for women. For the first time in 2012 London Olympics, both men and women had the same 5 events. How long this is going to last is for us to wait and watch.

Introduced in 2012 were some significant changes to the track cycling program. Removed from the program was the men's and women's individual pursuit and points race, and the men's Madison. Added to the women's program was the team sprint, team pursuit and the keirin, while Omnium was a new race for both men and women. The net result is that all event types now have competitions for both men and women: 1000m Sprint, Team Pursuit, Keirin, Omnium and Team sprint.

track cyclingTrack cycling for men has been a part of the Olympic Games since the first Games in 1896

The new event the Omnium comprises six events:

  1. Flying lap (against the clock)
  2. Points race
  3. Elimination
  4. Individual pursuit
  5. Scratch race
  6. Time trial

Track cycling for men has been a part of the games since the first Olympics in 1896. The women's track cycling races were included in 1988. The individual sprint is the oldest event that has be contested in every Olympics except 2004 and 2012. The team pursuit race, which was introduced in 1908, is the second oldest and still surviving race that has be contested in every Olympics except 2012.

France, Great Britain, and Germany are the three countries that have dominated the track cycling events. Chris Hoy of Great Britain is the most accomplished track cyclist who has won six gold medals and one silver medal.


Related Pages


Olympics Extra

The next Olympics will be the 2021 Tokyo Olympic Games, followed by the Winter Olympics 2022 in Beijing. Check out the list of Olympic Games sports, as well as discontinued and demonstration sports.

Major Events Extra

The largest sporting event in the world is the Olympic Games, but there are many other multi-sport games. In terms of single sport events, nothing beats the FIFA World Cup. To see what's coming up, check out the calendar of major sporting events.

How to Cite