Topend Sports Logo

Beijing Mascots

There were five Olympic Mascots for Beijing 2008: Beibei (blue Fish), Jingjing (black Panda), Huanhuan (red Flame), Yingying (yellow Antelope) and Nini (green Swallow).

Each of the macots (Friendlies) has a rhyming two-syllable name, which is a traditional way of expressing affection for children in China. Their five names together – "Bei Jing Huan Ying Ni" – says ‘Welcome to Beijing’.

Each mascot derived their color from the five Olympic Rings. The characters of each of the mascots represent four of China's most popular animals - the Fish, the Panda, the Tibetan Antelope, and the Swallow, while the fifth mascot represents the Olympic Flame.

Some mascots at Beijing Olympic ParkBeijing Olympic flags Some mascots at Beijing Olympic Park

Related Pages

send us a comment Any comments, suggestions, or corrections? Please let us know.

Olympics Extra

The next Olympics will be in Paris 2024, followed by the Winter edition in Milan-Cortina 2026. Check out the list of Olympic Games sports, as well as discontinued and demonstration sports.

Major Events Extra

The largest sporting event in the world is the Olympic Games, but there are many other multi-sport games. In terms of single sport events, nothing beats the FIFA World Cup. To see what's coming up, check out the calendar of major sporting events.

 → How to Cite