FIFA Confederations Cup

The FIFA Confederations Cup is an international football tournament with eight national teams that is held every four years. The competition is held between by holders of each of the FIFA confederation championships (UEFA, CONMEBOL, CONCACAF, CAF, AFC, OFC) together with the FIFA World Cup holder and the host nation.

Although the cup lacks the similar status as the World Cup or confederation championships like Copa America or the European Cup, it is a significant competition for national teams during the off-summer season.

In 1992 the tournament was originally called the King Fahd Cup and was held and organized in Saudi Arabia. There were only two King Fahd Cups – 1992 and 1995.

Since 1997, FIFA took over and organized the tournament, naming it the FIFA Confederations Cup and it was held every two years. In 2005, they decided to hold it every four years.

Since 1997, the country hosting a World Cup the following year is the host of the Confederations Cup, to be held as a dress rehearsal for the World Cup. The dress rehearsal gives an opportunity to use as many of the World Cup facilities as possible and also presents some competition for the host country since it does not have to go through the World Cup qualifying process.

Since there have been issues of the qualifying schedules of the World Cup, participation for champion countries is optional.

The first event, the 1992 King Fahd Cup, was won by Argentina. The first FIFA Confederations Cup champions in 1997 were Brazil. Overall, Brazil have won four editions of the FIFA Confederations Cup - in 1997, 2005, 2009 and 2013.

Upcoming Events



Related Pages


How to Cite