Topend Sports Logo

Rugby League World Cup

The Rugby League World Cup is an international rugby league tournament, played between national teams of the Rugby League International Federation.

The first-ever Rugby League World Cup was held in 1954 in France, although there had been ideas for a rugby league world cup tournament since the 1930s.

The format of the tournament has varied over time. For several competitions, the matches were played on a home-and-away basis around the world, instead of in any one host nation.

The Great Britain team has been split into teams from England, Scotland, Ireland and Wales since 1995, while England and Wales had previously competed as separate teams in the 1975 World Cup.

There have been 16 tournaments from 1954 to 2022, held with two to eight years intervals. Only three nations have won the tournament — Australia (12 times), Great Britain (3 times) and New Zealand (once). See the full list of winners.

The 2021 Rugby League World Cup in England was postponed from 2021 to 2022, after Australia and New Zealand indicated they would not attend the event if it went ahead in 2021.

The 2025 tournament will be held in France (see the full list of hosts). The event was originally awarded to the United States in 2016, but was changed because of financial concerns.


Upcoming Events

Related Pages

send us a comment Any comments, suggestions, or corrections? Please let us know.

Major Events Extra

The largest sporting event in the world is the Olympic Games, but there are many other multi-sport games. In terms of single sport events, nothing beats the FIFA World Cup. To see what's coming up, check out the calendar of major sporting events.

 → How to Cite