Sailing at the Paralympic Games

Sailing was included in the 1996 Athens games as a demonstration sport, and then debuted as a medal sport in the Sydney 2000 Paralympic Games. This is after the sport really took off in the 1980s and became increasingly popular. As a result, it is now practiced in more than 70 countries around the world. Athletes with any physical impairments can compete, and there are 4 different classes; stability, hand function, mobility and vision.

Initially only the 2.4mR and Sonar events were introduced at the Sydney games. At the 2008 Beijing Paralympics, SKUD 18, a new event, was included. The 2.4mR event must have one sailor, the Sonar event must have two sailors, and the SKUD 18 event must have three sailors. Also, in the SKUD 18 class, there must be at least one female sailor per boat. As for the other two events, there are no specific gender requirements.

Each event had up to 11 different races. Athletes earn a point for their position, e.g. 1 for first, 2 for second etc. After all the events, each teams score is added up (apart from their worst score), to give an overall. The gold medal goes to the sailor or team of sailors with the lowest overall points.

Even though sailing has been gaining in popularity, it seems that the IPC see no future for it in the Paralympic Games, at least not in Japan. They decided, to exclude sailing from Tokyo 2021.


Related Pages

send us a comment Got any comments, suggestions or corrections? Please let us know.

Paralympics Extra

The 2022 Winter Paralympics in Beijing are not far away, the next Summer Paralympics will be in Paris 2024. Also, check out the list of Paralympic sports, and top medal winners.

Major Events Extra

The largest sporting event in the world is the Olympic Games, but there are many other multi-sport games. In terms of single sport events, nothing beats the FIFA World Cup. To see what's coming up, check out the calendar of major sporting events.

How to Cite