Topend Sports Logo

New York Marathon

The New York City Marathon is an annual marathon running event that takes place in New York City, United States. The race is conducted on the first Sunday of November every year. It is one of the six World Marathon Majors and is also an IAAF Gold Label marathon.

New York MarathonWater station at the 2016 New York Marathon

TheĀ  course that runs through five boroughs of New York City, starting at Staten Island and ending in Manhattan, was founded in 1970 by Fred Lebow. The race has since been held every year except 2012 due effects of Hurricane Sandy. It is the largest marathon race in the world with over 35K finishers every year and a record of 50,304 finishers in 2013.

The current course record of 2:05:06 was set by Geoffrey Kiprono Mutai of Kenya in 2011. Margaret Okayo also of Kenya holds the current course record for women at 2:22:31 set at 2003, which was the second time she won the race.

Bill Rodgers has won the race four times and Grete Waitz of Norway has won the race for a record nine times which includes winning the event five straight times from 1982 to 1986. In 2005, Paul Tergat of Kenya won the race by a one second margin which is the closest race on the course.

Related Pages

send us a comment Any comments, suggestions, or corrections? Please let us know.

Marathon Extra

The World Marathon Majors is a championship-style marathon running competition consisting of six annual marathons, Tokyo, Boston, London, Berlin, Chicago and New York City, and two other races, the biennial IAAF World Championships Marathon and the quadrennial Olympic Games Marathon.

Major Events Extra

The largest sporting event in the world is the Olympic Games, but there are many other multi-sport games. In terms of single sport events, nothing beats the FIFA World Cup. To see what's coming up, check out the calendar of major sporting events.

 → How to Cite