World Marathon Majors (WMM)

World Marathon Majors (WMM) is a championship-style marathon running competition. Started in 2006. The series consist of six annual marathons, Tokyo, Boston, London, Berlin, Chicago and New York City, and two other races, the biennial IAAF World Championships Marathon and the quadrennial Olympic Games Marathon.

The WMM series until 2015 was run in a two calendar year format where the second year of a series overlapped with the first year of the next series. Beginning 2015, each series started with a city's race and end with the same city's race the following year.

A point system is used to determine the winners of the series. Initially the four top performances of an athlete was used for scoring but that was later modified in 2015 to include only the two best performances. Based on the current scoring system, a 1st place finish gets 25 points, 16 for 2nd, 9 for 3rd, 4 for 4th, and 1 for 5th. At the end of each series the man and woman with the highest number of points will each win $500,000 for a total prize money of one million US dollars.

In the nine editions completed thus far the Kenyan men have won it all nine times with Samuel Wanjiru winning it twice. In the women's event, Irina Mikitenko of Germany has been the most successful winning the championship three straight times.

Related Pages