World Rhythmic Gymnastics Championships

The World Rhythmic Gymnastics Championships was first held in 1963. It is a world championship for rhythmic gymnastics.

Rhythmic Gymnastics is part of the Summer Olympic Games. It involves ribbons, hoops, clubs, balls, dance and Gymnastics. Rhythmic Gymnastics is known to be the top sport for women in Europe and is becoming more popular for women in America as well.

The Championship is held every two years, except in 1991 when they held it for 4 consecutive years until 1995.

The first ever World Rhythmic Gymnastics Championships was in Budapest, Hungary. The Soviet Union won the first gold and silver medals and Bulgaria with bronze medal for an individual all-around.

For the Group All-Around, which was held in Copenhagen, Denmark in 1967, 4 years after the inauguration of the individual all-around, Soviet Union won gold medal, followed by Czechoslovakia in silver medal and Bulgaria in bronze medal.

Overall, Bulgaria won a total of 42 gold medals, Russia with 35 medals and Soviet Union with 33 medals. The 33rd World Rhythmic Gymnastics Championships was in 2014 from September 21 to 28, held in Izmir, Turkey where Bulgaria dominated the entire sport, followed by Italy and Belarus for the Group All-Around while Russia in gold and silver medals and Ukraine in bronze medal. A total of 53 countries participated in the championship.

Yana Kudryavtseva from the Russian Federation is the youngest rhythmic gymnast to win back-to-back individual All-around Titles in the World Championships. She’s only 16 years old and was awarded the Longines Prize for elegance.

Related Pages

Popular Pages


Major Events Extra

See our calendar of major sporting events.

How to Cite