Topend Sports Logo

The South-East Asian Games

The South-East Asian Games is commonly known as the SEA Games. It is held every two years involving 11 countries of Southeast Asia competing in a range of sports. The South-East Asian Games were originally called the Southeast Asian Peninsular Games, and changed its name after the inclusion of Brunei, the Philippines and Indonesia in 1977.

The first SEA Games were held in Bangkok in 1959, comprising more than 527 athletes and officials in 12 sports. The counties that participated were Thailand, Burma, Malaya (now Malaysia), Singapore, South Vietnam and Laos.

There is also a ASEAN Para Games.

Indonesian surfers at the 2019 SEA GamesIndonesian surfers at the 2019 SEA Games

Current South-East Asian Games Participating Countries

The next South East Asian Games

Related Pages

send us a comment Any comments, suggestions, or corrections? Please let us know.

Major Events Extra

The largest sporting event in the world is the Olympic Games, but there are many other multi-sport games. In terms of single sport events, nothing beats the FIFA World Cup. To see what's coming up, check out the calendar of major sporting events.

 → How to Cite