Topend Sports Logo

Netball at the Commonwealth Games

Netball is a popular Commonwealth Games sport. 1998 was the first Commonwealth Games in which a netball competition was officially held, and has been included in all Games since. Prior 1998, there was a demonstration of netball (as was triathlon) at the 1990 Auckland Commonwealth Games.

Just a single match was played in 1990, between Australia and New Zealand at Chase Stadium, Auckland on Feb 4. Australia won 53-35. No medals were on offer.

Australia and New Zealand fought out every gold medal match from 1998 to 2014, with Australia ahead 3-2. The evenness of the two nations was highlighted by the final in 2010, which had to go into double overtime before New Zealand finally won.

2018 saw a possible changing of the guard, with Australia being defeated in the final by England, and New Zealand finishing forth after a shock defeat to Malawi in the earlier rounds. England had won the bronze medal three of out the five previous times this event has been held, with Jamaica winning the other two.



Related Pages

send us a comment Any comments, suggestions, or corrections? Please let us know.

Major Events Extra

The largest sporting event in the world is the Olympic Games, but there are many other multi-sport games. In terms of single sport events, nothing beats the FIFA World Cup. To see what's coming up, check out the calendar of major sporting events.

 → How to Cite