NBA Finals

The championship series of the National Basketball Association (NBA) is called the NBA Finals. The series is played between the winners of the Western and Eastern Conference Finals, in a best of seven series of games. The winners of four NBA Finals games will be awarded the Larry O’Brien Championship Trophy.

In 1946 to 1983, the winners received the Walter A. Brown Trophy, redesigned in 1977 to the current form. The first NBA Finals was held in 1947, since then, the NBA Finals has been played at the end of every NBA and Basketball Association of America season.

The winning team of the NBA Finals since 1985 until 2013 was determined through a 2-3-2 format—the first and last two games of the series being played at the arena of the team who earned home court advantage by having the better record during the regular season. Before 1985, the series was played under the 2-2-1-1-1 format.

NBA Finals Trivia

Related Pages

Popular Content


Basketball Extra

New to basketball? here are the basics. There is also info about basketball technique to improve your skills. Science and basketball: read about the physics of basketball. and some information on fitness and fitness testing for basketball.

How to Cite