Topend Sports Logo

World Series Baseball MVP Winners

The Baseball World Series MVP is awarded to the player who contributes most to his team's success during the World Series Championships.

The award was first given in 1955. It was originally given by the editors of SPORT magazine, but is now decided by the opinions of a combination of fan voting, media members and Major League Baseball officials.

The following table lists the past winners of the Most Valuable Player (MVP) award.

See also the winners of other awards at the World Series.

Year Player Team
2021 Jorge Soler Atlanta Braves
2020 Corey Seager  Los Angeles Dodgers
2019 Stephen Strasburg Washington Nationals
2018 Steve Pearce Boston Red Sox
2017 George Springer Houston Astros
2016 Ben Zobrist Chicago Cubs
2015 Salvador Pérez Kansas City
2014 Madison Bumgarner San Francisco
2013 David Ortiz Boston Red Sox
2012 Pablo Sandoval San Francisco
2011 David Freese St. Louis Cardinals
2010 Edgar Rentería San Francisco
2009 Hideki Matsui New York Yankees
2008 Cole Hamels Philadelphia Phillies
2007 Mike Lowell Boston Red Sox
2006 David Eckstein St. Louis Cardinals
2005 Jermaine Dye Chicago White Sox
2004 Manny Ramírez Boston Red Sox
2003 Josh Beckett Florida Marlins
2002 Troy Glaus Anaheim Angels
2001 Randy Johnson & Curt Schilling Arizona Diamondbacks
2000 Derek Jeter New York Yankees
1999 Mariano Rivera New York Yankees
1998 Scott Brosius New York Yankees
1997 Liván Hernández Florida Marlins
1996 John Wetteland New York Yankees
1995 Tom Glavine Atlanta Braves
1994 No World Series
1993 Paul Molitor Toronto Blue Jays
1992 Pat Borders Toronto Blue Jays
1991 Jack Morris Minnesota Twins
1990 José Rijo Cincinnati Reds
1989 Dave Stewart Oakland Athletics
1988 Orel Hershiser Los Angeles Dodgers
1987 Frank Viola Minnesota Twins
1986 Ray Knight New York Mets
1985 Bret Saberhagen Kansas City Royals
1984 Alan Trammell Detroit Tigers
1983 Rick Dempsey Baltimore Orioles
1982 Darrell Porter St. Louis Cardinals
1981 Ron Cey, Pedro Guerrero & Steve Yeager Los Angeles Dodgers
1980 Mike Schmidt Philadelphia Phillies
1979 Willie Stargell Pittsburgh Pirates
1978 Bucky Dent New York Yankees
1977 Reggie Jackson New York Yankees
1976 Johnny Bench Cincinnati Reds
1975 Pete Rose Cincinnati Reds
1974 Rollie Fingers Oakland Athletics
1973 Reggie Jackson Oakland Athletics
1972 Gene Tenace Oakland Athletics
1971 Roberto Clemente Pittsburgh Pirates
1970 Brooks Robinson Baltimore Orioles
1969 Donn Clendenon New York Mets
1968 Mickey Lolich Detroit Tigers
1967 Bob Gibson St. Louis Cardinals
1966 Frank Robinson Baltimore Orioles
1965 Sandy Koufax Los Angeles Dodgers
1964 Bob Gibson St. Louis Cardinals
1963 Sandy Koufax Los Angeles Dodgers
1962 Ralph Terry New York Yankees
1961 Whitey Ford New York Yankees
1960 Bobby Richardson New York Yankees
1959 Larry Sherry Los Angeles Dodgers
1958 Bob Turley New York Yankees
1957 Lew Burdette Milwaukee Braves
1956 Don Larsen New York Yankees
1955 Johnny Podres Brooklyn Dodgers

Related Pages

send us a comment Any comments, suggestions, or corrections? Please let us know.

More Baseball

Major Events Extra

The largest sporting event in the world is the Olympic Games, but there are many other multi-sport games. In terms of single sport events, nothing beats the FIFA World Cup. To see what's coming up, check out the calendar of major sporting events.

 → How to Cite