Topend Sports Logo

Nordic Combined at the Winter Olympics

Nordic combined comprises both ski jumping and cross-country skiing disciplines. Nordic combined was first held at the Winter Olympics in 1924, and has been on the program ever since. At the Winter Olympics the Nordic Combined event remains the only event solely for men, even though in 2014 a women's event was added to the ski jump program. Despite a strong push by FIS, a women’s Nordic combined will not be joining the men’s event at Milan Cortina 2026.

Ski Jumping Ski Jumping

Events for Milan & Cortina d'Ampezzo 2026

Ski jumping is held first, followed by the cross-country skiing race (though earlier Olympic events had this order reversed). The cross country race is currently held as a pursuit race, meaning that the competitors start at different intervals, and the winner of the combined event is the first to cross the finish line.


Related Pages

send us a comment Any comments, suggestions, or corrections? Please let us know.

Olympics Extra

The next Olympics will be in Paris 2024, followed by the Winter edition in Milan-Cortina 2026. Check out the list of Olympic Games sports, as well as discontinued and demonstration sports.

Major Events Extra

The largest sporting event in the world is the Olympic Games, but there are many other multi-sport games. In terms of single sport events, nothing beats the FIFA World Cup. To see what's coming up, check out the calendar of major sporting events.

 → How to Cite