Topend Sports Logo

Sitting Volleyball at the Paralympic Games

Sitting volleyball was first featured in the Paralympic Games as a demonstration sport, at the 1976 Toronto Games. It was then introduced as a medal sport in Arnhem during 1980. The sport first originated in the Netherlands during the 1950s, it was a combination of volleyball and the German Sitzball sport. Initially, standing volleyball was included in the Paralympic program. However, it was discontinued in the 2000 games.

Athletes with any physical impairment can compete in sitting volleyball, and there are both men’s and women’s events. The aim of the game is to hit the ball over the net, and land it in the opponent’s court, without them returning it successfully. Each team can use up to three passes for an attack, then they must hit the ball over the net. To win a set, a team must score 25 points, but they must win by two clear points. It is a best of 5 format, if the contest goes to game 5, then to win, a team must score 15 points, with a 2 point lead.

In comparison to the court and net used for regular indoor volleyball, the Paralympic Games has scaled down these factors. Using a 10m by 6m court, and a lower net. As you would expect, this results in a faster gameplay for the Paralympic sport. Another difference from the Olympic volleyball rules, is that you are able to block an opponent’s serve.

Sitting volleyball matchSitting volleyball was a demonstration sport at the 1976 Toronto Games

Each team can have six players on the court at one time, with five athletes in reserve. A defensive specialist can feature in the team as one of the six, who wears a different coloured shirt, to help the team’s performance.

Surprisingly enough, even though the sport is sitting volleyball, not all athletes who compete are unable to stand. You may often see players stand up to celebrate. To be eligible to play, an athlete must not be able to compete in the Olympics due to an impairment, they do not necessarily have to be disabled in their lower body.

Related Pages

send us a comment Any comments, suggestions, or corrections? Please let us know.

Paralympics Extra

The next Summer Paralympics will be in Paris 2024, followed by the 2026 Winter Paralympics. Also, check out the list of Paralympic sports, and top medal winners.

Major Events Extra

The largest sporting event in the world is the Olympic Games, but there are many other multi-sport games. In terms of single sport events, nothing beats the FIFA World Cup. To see what's coming up, check out the calendar of major sporting events.

 → How to Cite