Aerobic Gymnastics World Championship

The World Championship for aerobic gymnastics is the Aerobic Gymnastics World Championship. It was a recognized sport aerobic with new competitive gymnastics discipline, organized by the Federation Internationale de Gymnastique (FIG) in 1995, in Paris, France.

It was held annually from 1995 until 2000, then every two years since 2002.

Performing aerobic gymnastics is by having the ability to execute constant and high intensity movement patterns along to the sound of music.

It was originated from the traditional aerobic classes.

Aside from jumping jacks, high kicks and push-ups that are present in an aerobic class, a simplified competition was created and held for the first time in the US in 1985. It was then followed by other countries like Brazil, Japan and Canada that started to organize national and international aerobic competition.
The gymnast of aerobic gymnastics must have the routine on a continuous manner mixed with coordination, strength and flexibility, with knowledge of traditional aerobic movements.

Lifts and interactions for team categories must be combined with perfect execution of the difficult elements.
There are five disciplines for the aerobic gymnastics – individual women, individual me, mixed pairs, trios and groups.

Over 19 countries participated in the Aerobic Gymnastics World Championships.

Overall, Romania won a total of 45 medals, Spain with 14 medals and China with 19 medals.

The latest and 13th Aerobic Gymnastics World Championships was held in Cancun, Mexico.

Related Pages

send us a comment Any comments, suggestions, or corrections? Please let us know.

Major Events Extra

The largest sporting event in the world is the Olympic Games, but there are many other multi-sport games. In terms of single sport events, nothing beats the FIFA World Cup. To see what's coming up, check out the calendar of major sporting events.

 → How to Cite