FEI World Equestrian Games (WEG)

One of the major international championships for equestrianism is the FEI World Equestrian Games (WEG). It is organized by the Federation Equestre Internationale (FEI).

This equestrian championship is held every four years, halfway among sets of successive Summer Olympic Games since 1990. Prior to then, all ten of the FEI’s individual disciplines held split championships usually in different countries.

The new WEG runs for two weeks and locations rotate to different parts of the world.

WEG competitors go through a painstaking selection process and each country involved send teams that distinguish themselves as the country’s best in each particular discipline.

The WEG disciplines expanded throughout the years, including eight new disciplines – combined Driving, Vaulting, Dressage, Show Jumping, Endurance Riding, Reigning, Eventing ad Para equestrianism. Two remaining regional disciplines of the FEI include Horse Ball and Tent Pegging.

2014 WEG

The 2014 FEI World Equestrian Games were held in Normandy, France. D’Ornano Stadium hosted the opening and closing ceremonies, Jumping, Dressage, Jumping Test and Eventing competition. Para-Dressage and Driving will be in the Prairie racecourse.

Next WEG

The 2018 FEI World Equestrian Games will be held in Tryon, North Carolina, USA from September 10-23, 2018.

WEG Trivia

Related Pages

Popular Pages


Major Events Extra

See our calendar of major sporting events.

How to Cite