Polo was on the Olympic program five times, in 1900, 1908, 1920, 1924 and 1936. In the final game played at the Olympic level in 1936, Argentina won gold in front of a crowd of 45,000 people


The best all-time performing polo player at the Olympic Games is British rider John Wodehouse who won a silver in 1908 and gold in 1920. See more on the Greatest Polo Competitors at the Olympics.


In the final, Final Foxhunters beat Rugby 3-1

  1. Great Britain / USA (Final Foxhunters)
  2. Great Britain / USA (Rugby)
  3. France / Great Britain
  4. USA / Mexico


  1. Great Britain
  2. Great Britain
  3. Great Britain


In the final Great Britain defeated Spain 13-11

  1. Great Britain
  2. Spain
  3. United States
  4. Belgium
a polo player in actiona polo player in action


Argentina won every one of their four games.

  1. Argentina
  2. United States
  3. Great Britain
  4. Spain
  5. France


In the final, Argentina beat Great Britain 11-0. In the playoff for 3rd and fourth, Mexico beat Hungary 16-2.

  1. Argentina
  2. Great Britain
  3. Mexico
  4. Hungry
  5. Germany



Related Pages

Popular Content


Olympics Extra

The next Olympics will be the 2020 Tokyo Olympic Games, followed by the Winter Olympics 2022 in Beijing. Check out the list of olympic sports, as well as discontinued and demonstration sports.

How to Cite