Topend Sports Logo

Standing Triple Jump

The standing triple jump was held at the 1900 and 1904 Olympic Games. As with the conventional triple jump that is in the current Olympic Track and Field Program, the event is composed of three phases: the hop, the step and the jump. In the standing version of this event, no run up is allowed.

The winner is the competitor who achieves the greatest distance out of all of three attempts. As with all the standing jump events at the Olympics, this event was won by the legendary Ray Ewry.



1 Ray Ewry (USA) 10.58 m
2 Irving Baxter (USA) 9.95 m
3 Robert Garrett (USA) 9.50 m


1 Ray Ewry (USA) 10.54
2 Charles King (USA) 10.16
3 Joseph Stadler (USA) 9.60

Related Pages

send us a comment Any comments, suggestions, or corrections? Please let us know.

Olympics Extra

The next Olympics will be in Paris 2024, followed by the Winter edition in Milan-Cortina 2026. Check out the list of Olympic Games sports, as well as discontinued and demonstration sports.

Major Events Extra

The largest sporting event in the world is the Olympic Games, but there are many other multi-sport games. In terms of single sport events, nothing beats the FIFA World Cup. To see what's coming up, check out the calendar of major sporting events.

 → How to Cite