Topend Sports Logo

Standing Long Jump

The standing Long Jump (also called the Broad Jump) was held in 1900, 1904, 1906, 1908 and 1912. Unlike the conventional long jump event which is part of the current track and field program, the standing version does not allow any run up. The jumper must stand at a line marked on the ground with his feet slightly apart. He then takes off and lands on both feet, swinging his arms and bending his knees to provide forward drive.

The jump must be repeated if the athletes falls back or uses a step at take-off. The best of three attempts is recorded.

A champion in this discipline, Ray Ewry won the standing long jump (and the standing high jump) in 1900, 1904, 1906, and 1908. He set world record for the standing long jump of 3.47 m on September 3, 1904. His feats were even more impressive as Ray had spent his childhood in a wheelchair partially paralyzed with polio.



1 Ray Ewry (USA) 3.21 m
2 Irving Baxter (USA) 3.135 m
3 Émile Torcheboeuf (FRA) 3.03 m


1 Ray Ewry (USA) 3.47 m (World Record)
2 Charles King (USA) 3.27 m
3 John Biller (USA) 3.25 m


1 Ray Ewry (USA) 3.30
2 Martin Sheridan (USA) 3.09.5
Lawson Robertson (USA) 3.05


1 Ray Ewry (USA) 3.33 m
2 Konstantinos Tsiklitiras (GRE) 3.235 m
3 Martin Sheridan (USA) 3.23 m


1 Konstantinos Tsiklitiras (GRE) 3.37 m
2 Platt Adams (USA) 3.36 m
3 Benjamin Adams (USA) 3.28 m

Related Pages

send us a comment Any comments, suggestions, or corrections? Please let us know.

Olympics Extra

The next Olympics will be in Paris 2024, followed by the Winter edition in Milan-Cortina 2026. Check out the list of Olympic Games sports, as well as discontinued and demonstration sports.

Major Events Extra

The largest sporting event in the world is the Olympic Games, but there are many other multi-sport games. In terms of single sport events, nothing beats the FIFA World Cup. To see what's coming up, check out the calendar of major sporting events.

 → How to Cite