FIBA Basketball World Cup

The FIBA Basketball World Cup is an international competition against different men’s national teams that are members of the International Basketball Federation (FIBA). It is also known as the FIBA World Cup of Basketball, FIBA World Cup and FIBA World Championship, now commonly known as the FIBA Basketball World Cup. Bringing 214 National Basketball Federations from all over the world, it was first played in 1932.

FIBA is quite comparable to the FIFA World Cup. Both are international competitions that played in the same year since 1970. There is also the FIBA World Championship for Women, which is held every four years. It is the same year as the men’s event but in a different country.

During the early years of the championship, Europe and South America were the only recognized playing teams. The first ever FIBA was held in Argentina in 1950, where Argentina won against the USA, 64-50 and Chile against Brazil with 51-40.

Asia followed in 1960, and then joined by Africa in 1962, Central America in 1965 and Oceana in 1971. It was in 1967 when the qualifications were formalized.

In 1970, the qualifications have continued to be based on continental competitions and the Olympic tournament. In 1990, the FIBA World Championship started taking qualifiers from newly redesigned FIBA Americas Championship, not just in North, Central and South America. In 2006, 24 teams entered the championship.

Yugoslavia has been the most successful team, winning 5 gold medals in the 16 editions of FIBA. USA has won 4 medals and the Soviet Union 3. Winners receive the Naismith Trophy. It was first handed out in 1967.

The USA won against Serbia in the 2014 FIBA Basketball World Cup.

Next World Cup Event

Related Pages

Popular Pages


Basketball Extra

New to basketball? here are the basics. There is also info about basketball technique to improve your skills. Science and basketball: read about the physics of basketball. and some information on fitness and fitness testing for basketball.

Major Events Extra

See our calendar of major sporting events.

How to Cite