World Cup of Hockey

The World Cup of Hockey is a world event inviting the world’s best hockey players to compete in a round robin style tournament. This event came to replace the Canada Cup which had existed from 1976 to 1991.

The World Cup of Hockey was held irregularly, with the first being won by the United States in 1996 and the second being won by Canada in 2004. The event is now expected to be hosted biannually from 2016.

This tournament is organized by the National Hockey League (NHL) and the National Hockey League Players’ Association (NHLPA) and it uses NHL rules. In contrast, the international ice hockey tournaments hosted by the International Ice Hockey Federation (IIHF), can occur during playoff season and use an entirely different set of rules.

This tournament was determined to bring together the world’s elite hockey players since the Olympics offered only an amatuer gathering of players. The event originally included 6 teams but has now been increased to 8. The top 6 nations in this competition or known to be Canada, United States, Czech Republic, Finland, Russia, and Sweden.

Interesting Fact: During the original Canada Cup tournaments, Canada had won 4 of the 5 events, with Russia winning one in 1981.

Related Pages