Ice Hockey World Championships

The Ice Hockey World Championships (IHWC) is an annual ice hockey event hosted across the world. This event is governed by the International Ice Hockey Federation (IIHF) with the first tournament being held during the summer Olympics in 1920. Throughout 1920 to 1968, the World Championships took place at Olympic events.

In 1930, twelve nations participated in the first individually organized hockey tournament hosted in Chamonix, France, Vienna, Austria, and Berlin, Germany. The event was set up as a round robin with Canada winning becoming the champions.

The recent IHWC has been split into divisions where Divisions I and II having 12 teams each. Division III is created when there are more than 40 teams competing. There is a preliminary round involving the top 8 teams from each division.

ice hockey is played on ice hockey played on ice

The rules of the sport differ slightly from the rules of the NHL. For example, when there is a tie the IHWC uses only a single round of overtime then uses shout outs to determine the winner. 

Interesting Fact: Between, 1930 and 1952, Canada dominated the IHWC. In 1954, Russia joined the competition and became fast rivals with the Canadians. From 1963 to 1991 when the Soviet Union dissolved, Russia then dominated the tournament winning 20 championships.


Related Pages

Popular Content


Major Events Extra

The biggest sporting event in the world is the Olympic Games, but there are many other multi-sport games. In terms of single sport events, nothing beats the FIFA World Cup. To see what's coming up, check out the calendar of major sporting events.

Hockey Extra

The pinnacle of world ice hockey is the Stanley Cup competition, followed closely by the Ice Hockey at the Winter Olympics and other major events. For players and coaches, read about fitness testing for hockey, including details of the NHL combine.

How to Cite