Topend Sports Logo

The South American Games

The South American Games is a regional multi-sport event held between nations in South America. Formerly known as the Southern Cross Games, the event is organized by the South American Sports Organization (Organizacion Deportiva Sudamericana, ODESUR). The first official South American Games was held in La Paz, Bolivia in 1978. Since then, it has been held every four years.

Nations with high rankings in the South American Games medal count are Argentina (2207 medals), Brazil (1687 medals), Venezuela (1347 medals), Colombia (1087 medals) and Chile (1213 medals).

Some of the sports being competed in the Games are football, handball, swimming, archery, gymnastics and table tennis.

The 2014 edition of the Games was held in Santiago, Chile in March 2014 with over 3,499 athletes competing against one another. That year, Brazil dominated the 10th South American Games.

The next South American Games

Related Pages

send us a comment Any comments, suggestions, or corrections? Please let us know.

Major Events Extra

The largest sporting event in the world is the Olympic Games, but there are many other multi-sport games. In terms of single sport events, nothing beats the FIFA World Cup. To see what's coming up, check out the calendar of major sporting events.

 → How to Cite