Topend Sports Logo

Games of the Small States of Europe

The Games of the Small States of Europe (GSSE) is a multi-sport event dedicated to these select countries which have a population of less than one million inhabitants. The nine participating countries are Andorra, Cyprus, Iceland, Liechtenstein, Luxembourg, Malta, Monaco, Montenegro, and San Marino.  Originally, there were only eight members to the Games. Montenegro became the ninth country added to the Games in 2009.

The Games were created following a proposal made from Maltese officials in 1985. Every two years, a city representing one of the participating countries is appointed to be the host. The Games commence at the end of May or at the start of June each year.

There are currently ten sports, including: Athletics, Basketball, Beach Volleyball, Cycling (road), Gymnastics (artistic), Judo, Shooting, Swimming, Table tennis, Tennis, and Volleyball.

Host Cities and Nations

The first event was held in San Marino in 1985.

No. Year Host City Host Nation
21 2027 Monaco City Monaco
20 2025 Andorra la Vella Andorra
19 2023 Various Malta
18 2019 Budva Montenegro
17 2017 City of San Marino San Marino
16 2015 Reykjavík Iceland
15 2013 Luxembourg City Luxembourg
14 2011 Various Liechtenstein
13 2009 Various Cyprus
12 2007 Monaco City Monaco
11 2005 Andorra la Vella Andorra
10 2003 Valletta Malta
9 2001 City of San Marino San Marino
8 1999 Vaduz Liechtenstein
7 1997 Reykjavík Iceland
6 1995 Luxembourg City Luxembourg
5 1993 Valletta Malta
4 1991 Andorra la Vella Andorra
3 1989 Nicosia Cyprus
2 1987 Monaco City Monaco
1 1985 City of San Marino San Marino

Interesting Facts:

Related Pages

send us a comment Any comments, suggestions, or corrections? Please let us know.

Major Events Extra

The largest sporting event in the world is the Olympic Games, but there are many other multi-sport games. In terms of single sport events, nothing beats the FIFA World Cup. To see what's coming up, check out the calendar of major sporting events.

 → How to Cite