Topend Sports Logo

The South Asian Games

Like the Olympic Games, the South Asian Games are held in the name of friendship and brotherhood for all south Asian countries. The South Asian Games (or SAG) up until recently was known as the South Asian Federation Games (SAF games).

Irrespective of all religions, the South Asian Games brings together the people of these countries to participate in many events. The first South Asian games were held in Nepal in 1983 with eight countries participating. The Games are held every two years except for some occasions.

The Games currently have 8 member countries, Bangladesh, Pakistan, India, Maldives, Nepal, Bhutan, Sri Lanka and Afghanistan. The most important thing is that every country brings their own culture when arranging the event.

The first South Asian games included just 15 events. Recently there have been at least 23 events included, such as Swimming, Archery, Athletics, Badminton, Basketball, Boxing, Cricket, Cycling, Kabaddi, Karate, Shooting, Table Tennis, Squash, Football, Golf, Volleyball, Weightlifting, Handball, Hockey, Wrestling, Judo, Wushu. Recent additions include Golf, Wrestling, T20 Cricket, and Female cycling and Badminton.

The next South Asian Games

Related Pages

send us a comment Any comments, suggestions, or corrections? Please let us know.

Major Events Extra

The largest sporting event in the world is the Olympic Games, but there are many other multi-sport games. In terms of single sport events, nothing beats the FIFA World Cup. To see what's coming up, check out the calendar of major sporting events.

 → How to Cite