Topend Sports Logo

BWF Badminton World Championships

The Badminton World Championships (BWC) is governed by the Badminton World Federation (BWF). Competitions are held annually, in events for Men's singles, Women's singles, Men's doubles, Women's doubles and Mixed doubles. Every four years the Summer Olympics counts as te world championships.

Starting in 1977, the tournament was held every 3 years until 1983. From then on, the IBF merged with the BWF to form a single badminton federation. The event was then changed to bi-annual until 2005. In 2006, the event was changed again to be held annually, giving more competitors a chance to win the title.

The tournament is divided into categories which include the men’s singles, women’s singles, men’s doubles, women’s doubles, and mixed doubles.

China has been the dominating country in this tournament and they have numerous, successful players with three or more gold medals.  

Currently (as of 2017), there are only 20 teams that have ranked for medals; 10 in Asia, 8 in Europe, 1 in N. America, and 1 in Oceania. Africa is yet to win a title.

Interesting Fact: There is no prize money for winning the Badminton World Championship, only medals.  

Related Pages

send us a comment Any comments, suggestions, or corrections? Please let us know.

Major Events Extra

The largest sporting event in the world is the Olympic Games, but there are many other multi-sport games. In terms of single sport events, nothing beats the FIFA World Cup. To see what's coming up, check out the calendar of major sporting events.

 → How to Cite