FIFA World Player of the Year (Ballon d'Or)

Here are the top FIFA men's player of the year award winners since 1991. This award is given annually to the player who is thought to be the best in the world, based on votes by coaches of international teams.

Since 2004 the voting process is based on a shortlist of 35 produced by FIFA, from which team captains and representatives from FIFPro vote in addition to the national team managers. In 2010, the FIFA player of the year award was merged with the Ballon d'Or. From 2010, the award is called the FIFA Ballon d'Or. Compare this list to the player of the year according to World Soccer magazine, and also the female player of the year.

Combining the FIFA Ballon d'Or and FIFA World Player of the Year awards, Lionel Messi has won the award four times, with other players having won it three times: Cristiano Ronaldo, Zidane and Ronaldo.

year player nationality
2014 Cristiano Ronaldo Portugal
2013 Cristiano Ronaldo Portugal
2012 Lionel Messi Argentina
2011 Lionel Messi Argentina
2010 Lionel Messi Argentina
2009 Lionel Messi Argentina
2008 Cristiano Ronaldo Portugal
2007 Kaká Brazil
2006 Fabio Cannavaro Italy
2005 Ronaldinho Brazil
2004 Ronaldinho Brazil
2003 Zinedine Zidane France
2002 Ronaldo Brazil
2001 Luís Figo Portugal
2000 Zinedine Zidane France
1999 Rivaldo Brazil
1998 Zinedine Zidane France
1997 Ronaldo Brazil
1996 Ronaldo Brazil
1995 George Weah Liberia
1994 Romário Brazil
1993 Roberto Baggio Italy
1992 Marco van Basten Netherlands
1991 Lothar Matthäus Germany
share this page:

Related Pages

comments powered by Disqus