The Arctic Winter Games

The Arctic Winter Games is held every two years for athletes living in countries situated around the North Pole. Participants have come from Alaska, Greenland, Denmark, Canada, Russia and Sápmi (from Norway, Sweden, Finland, Kola Peninsula of Russia).

The first event was held in 1970 in Yellowknife, Canada.

The following sports have been included:

Alpine Skiing, Arctic Sports & Dene Games, Badminton, Basketball, Ski Biathlon, Cross-Country Skiing, Curling, Dog Mushing, Figure Skating, Gymnastics, Hockey, Indoor Soccer, Snowboarding, Snowshoe Biathlon, Snowshoe running, Speed Skating, Volleyball and Wrestling.

Related Pages