Topend Sports Logo

World Snooker Championship

The World Snooker Championship is a professional snooker tournament with prize money, ranking points and prestige. It’s one of the Triple Crown snooker events besides the UK Championship and the Masters. The first official Snooker Championship was held in 1927 in Sheffield, England.

snooker tablesnooker balls

In 2014, Chairman Barry Hearn of World Snooker declared that there were changes to be made for the 2015 World Snooker Championship. Champions will extend an opportunity to play in qualifying rounds. The top 16 seeds would still qualify automatically for the first round at the Crucible, but the non-seeded players will need to start in the first of three qualifying rounds. The overall championship was said to be boosted from 128 to 144 players with extra places made accessible to former world champions and up-and-coming players from different countries.

Related Pages

send us a comment Any comments, suggestions, or corrections? Please let us know.

Major Events Extra

The largest sporting event in the world is the Olympic Games, but there are many other multi-sport games. In terms of single sport events, nothing beats the FIFA World Cup. To see what's coming up, check out the calendar of major sporting events.

 → How to Cite