Cycling at the Olympics

Cycling is a core Olympic sport, and one of five sports that has been contested at every summer Olympic Games since 1896. The other core sports are: Athletics, Fencing, Gymnastics and Swimming.

Some cycling events such as the 1,000m sprint and the 4,000m team pursuit have had a long history at the Olympics, while others have been dropped from the program such as the Tandem event or recently added such as the Omnium.

Four Disciplines

There are currently four disciplines in Olympic cycling: track, road, mountain-bike and BMX. BMX was the latest to be added to the Olympic program, in 2008.

In London 2012 there were some significant changes to the cycling program. Removed from the program was the men's and women's individual pursuit and points race, and the men's Madison. Added to the women's program was the team sprint, team pursuit and the keirin, while Omnium was a new race for both men and women. The net result is that all event types now have competitions for both men and women.

cycle sprinterThe new event the Omnium comprises six events:

  1. Flying lap (against the clock)
  2. Points race
  3. Elimination
  4. Individual pursuit
  5. Scratch race
  6. Time trial

See also the list of discontinued Olympic cycling events.

Current Events

Here are the 18 cycling event that are currently part of the Olympic program. The year that each event was first on the program is listed.


Related Pages