The Islamic Solidarity Games

The Islamic Solidarity Games is a multinational and multisport event. It involves athletes of the Organization of the Islamic Cooperation, organized by the Islamic Solidarity Sports Federation (ISSF). Nations that are non-Muslim may also partake in the event. See also the Women’s Islamic Games.

The Games were created to strengthen Islamic solidarity among nations and entrench of principles of non-discrimination between religions, races and colors in keeping with the teachings of Islam.

The first ever Islamic Solidarity Games took place in Saudi Arabia, in 2005. There are 57 members of the Organization of the Islamic Conference.

The second Islamic Solidarity Games was initially scheduled for October 2009 in Iran but was later moved to April 2010. It was canceled because of the disagreement involving Iran and the Arab World, for using the term Persian Gulf in logos for The Games. Other Arab countries use the term “Arabian Gulf” to refer to the Persian Gulf.

The third Games took place in Indonesia, in 2013 and the fourth one will be on 2017, to be held in Baku.
There are 18 sports in the Islamic Solidarity Games including football, equestrian, basketball and water polo.
Egypt won over 128 medals, followed by Turkey with 110 medals and Indonesia with 108 medals.

The next Islamic Solidarity Games

Related Pages

follow Topend Sports
facebook facebook

Major Events Menu