AFL Women's League

A new national women's Australian football competition, organised by the AFL, started in 2017. A national competition was played in February and March which included four teams from Victoria and one each from Western Australia, South Australia, New South Wales and Queensland.


There were eight teams, four from Victoria, and four from other states.

The Victorian contingent comprised Carlton, Collingwood, Melbourne and the Western Bulldogs. The non-Victorian teams included Fremantle, Adelaide, Brisbane Lions and Greater Western Sydney.

The other clubs that applied to be part of the inaugural season were granted provisional licences to be part of an expanded women's league in 2018. These teams were Richmond, Geelong, North Melbourne, St Kilda, and the West Coast Eagles.

First Season

After some exhibition games in 2016, the inaugural season was held over eight-weeks in February and March 2017. The competition featured six home-and-away rounds, with the top four playing two semi-finals and a Grand Final.


Related Pages

Popular Content


Sport Extra

Check out our Encyclopedia of Every Sport. Well not every sport, as there is a list of unusual sports, extinct sports and newly created sports. How to get on these lists? See What is a sport?

How to Cite