UEFA European (Euro) Championship

The UEFA European (Euro) Championship is the primary association football competition between the senior men’s national teams of members of the Union of European Football Association (UEFA). It has been held every four years since 1960 in Europe to determine the continental champion.

The tournament was formerly known as the UEFA European Nations Cup but changed to the current name in 1969.

Since the 1996 tournament, titles of each championship are known to be in the form “UEFA Euro (year)”. It has been since retroactively applied to earlier tournaments.

The championship is known to be the second most watched international football tournament just after the FIFA World Cup.

The Henri Delaunay Trophy is awarded to the winning team, in honor of the first General Secretary of UEFA who came up with the European Championship but died five years after the first tournament. The trophy was remodeled for the 2008 tournament to make it larger. The old trophy overshadowed the UEFA’s other trophies such as the European Champion Clubs’ Cup. The current trophy weighs 8 kilograms and is 24 inches tall, being seven inches longer and one pound heavier than the old one.

More Info

Upcoming Events


Related Pages

send us a comment Got any comments, suggestions or corrections? Please let us know.

How to Cite