Rugby World Cup Hosts

The inaugural Rugby World Cup was co-hosted by Australia and New Zealand. The next tournament in 1991 was also co-hosted. Click on the year in the table below to show more details of each event. The next event, in 2019, will be hosted by Japan.

Event Year Country
10 2023 France
9 2019 Japan
8 2015 England
7 2011 New Zealand
6 2007 France
5 2003 Australia
4 1999 Wales
3 1995 South Africa
2 1991 UK and France
1 1987 Australia and New Zealand


Related Pages

Popular Content


Major Events Extra

The biggest sporting event in the world is the Olympic Games, but there are many other multi-sport games. In terms of single sport events, nothing beats the FIFA World Cup. To see what's coming up, check out the calendar of major sporting events.

How to Cite