Youth Olympics (YOG)

The Youth Olympic Games (YOG) is an international multi-sport event, held every four years. The age limitation of the athletes is 14 to 18. The Youth Olympic Games is a successor to the discontinued World Youth Games.

The sports contested at the Youth Games comprise the same as those scheduled for the traditional Olympic Games, plus other sports that may one day be part of the Olympic Games. At the 2018 Youth Olympics four sports made their Olympic debut: sport climbing, dance sport, karate and roller sports. Also, BMX freestyle, kiteboarding, futsal and beach handball were new sport disciplines on the program.

There were plans to move the YOG to a non-Olympic year, starting with the 4th Summer Youth Olympic Games moving from 2022 to 2023, but this decision was rescinded.

Youth Olympics Hosts (Summer & Winter)

Year Games Version Host dates
2022 Summer 4 Dakar, Senegal ?
2020 Winter 3 Lausanne, Switzerland Jan 9-22, 2020
2018 Summer 3 Buenos Aires, Argentina Oct 6-18, 2018
2016 Winter 2 Lillehammer, Norway Feb 26 - Mar 6, 2016
2014 Summer 2 Nanjing Aug 16-28, 2014
2012 Winter 1 Innsbruck Jan 13-22 , 2012
2010 Summer 1 Singapore Aug 14 to 26, 2010
1988 World Youth Games Moscow Jul 11-19, 1998


Related Pages

Popular Content


Major Events Extra

The biggest sporting event in the world is the Olympic Games, but there are many other multi-sport games. In terms of single sport events, nothing beats the FIFA World Cup. To see what's coming up, check out calendar of major sporting events.

How to Cite