The South-East Asian Games

The South-East Asian Games is commonly known as as the SEA Games. It is held every two years involving 11 countries of Southeast Asia competing in a range of sports.

The South-East Asian Games were originally called the Southeast Asian Peninsular Games, and changed its name after the inclusion of Brunei, the Philippines and Indonesia in 1977.

The first Games were held in Bangkok in 1959, comprising more than 527 athletes and officials in 12 sports. The counties that participated were Thailand, Burma, Malaya (now Malaysia), Singapore, South Vietnam and Laos.

Current Participating Countries

The next South East Asian Games

The next South East Asian Games will be held in Singapore from June 5-16, 2015.

Related Pages