The Indian Ocean Island Games

The Indian Ocean Island Games (IOIG) is a multi-sport tournament for the athletes from the all Islands of the Indian Ocean. International Olympic Committee (IOC) adopted this tournament in 1976. At first it was named “Indian Ocean Games” But later was renamed “Indian Ocean Island Games” before its first edition in 1979.
The games was created to foster friendship and mutual understanding, to develop the skilfulness of the athletes of the member islands, to create a spirit of solidarity amongst all member islands through the regional cooperation.

The participating islands are Mauritius, Seychelles, Comoros, Madagascar, Mayotte, Réunion and the Maldives. All are islands of Indian Ocean. Till today, eight editions of the games were taken place in between 1979 to 2011. Réunion, Mauritius, Madagascar and Seychelles arranged the game for equally two times in turns. The first edition of the game was held in 1979 in Réunion and the eighth edition was held in Seychelles in 2011.

Around 1500 athletes from the seven islands of the Indian Ocean, Réunion, Madagascar, Maldives, Seychelles, Mayotte, Mauritius and the Comoros participated in the last edition of the tournament. Although Sri Lanka, an island of Indian Ocean drafted the charter of the games along with Seychelles, Mauritius, Comoros and Réunion surprisingly, it has never participated in this tournament.

Although it was expected that the games should occur every four years, that frequency was not observed from 1979 to 2003.  The number of the events of the games will be at least five including two essential events, swimming and Athletics, and at least 80% of the total number of sports of the Games must be Olympic Sports.

The next Indian Ocean Island Games

Related Pages

follow Topend Sports
facebook facebook

Major Events Menu