World Test Championship

Before the ICC called it off in January 2014, The ICC World Test Championship was supposed to become the premier championship for Cricket organized by the International Cricket Council (ICC).

The first games were scheduled to be in 2017. Participants were to play a three-match Test championship from the first week of June 2017 until its third week.

The original plans were neglected caused by financial problems from the board, together with the sponsors who committed and also the broadcasters.

Originally, England and Wales were the hosts of the tournament. They were instead awarded the 2013 ICC Champions Trophy. 

During the declaration in the Dubai 2010 headquarters, the format was believed to involve an initial league stage, played over a cycle of four years, with all ten up to date test cricket nations of the ICC (Austria, India, England, South Africa, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, New Zealand, West Indies, Zimbabwe and Bangladesh) partaking.

The ICC had also announced plans to stage the second Test Championship in India in February to March 2021.

Related Pages